How do I set asset-level permissions?

Print Friendly and PDF

Faithlife’s digital asset manager makes it easy to adjust permissions for each file from the asset’s detail page.

 

Skip ahead to:

Navigate to the asset’s detail page

Set the status for the asset

Set permissions for the asset

Restore the default settings

 

Navigate to the asset’s detail page

You can access this by selecting the View asset detail icon.

 

Set the status for the asset

An asset’s status indicates to other admins where that asset falls in a particular workflow, and, in the case of videos, also determines whether it is “live” and will display in Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or elsewhere.

 

  • n/a: This video will not be displayed in Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.
  • Draft: This video will not be displayed on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.
  • Published: This video will appear on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, and wherever you’ve embedded it.
  • Retired: This video will not be displayed on Faithlife TV, on your Faithlife Site, or anywhere you’ve embedded it.

 

Set permissions for the asset

Scroll down to locate the file-level permissions. These permissions affect who can access the file via the content section of your group.

You can adjust the permissions for both Can View and Can Edit.

  • Admins: Only admins of this group will be able to view/edit the file
  • Moderators: Only moderators of this group will be able to view/edit the file
  • Members: Only members of this group will be able to view/edit the file
  • Followers: Only followers of this group will be able to view/edit the file
  • Public: Anyone will be able to view the file

Note that the digital asset manager will indicate the group-level permissions, e.g., Members (Default). Learn more about setting group-level permissions.

 

Restore the default settings

When you change the permission of a file, you are also unlinking the file from the default permission for the group. The file-level permission overrides the default unless you reinstate the default permission by clicking the Use Default link that now appears.

 

Example

If the default setting for your group allows members to view and edit files, and you change a specific file’s permissions to Followers, you’ve unlinked that file from your group-level setting. Even if you return the permission setting for the file back to Members, it does not re-create a link to the group default (note the Use Default link still remains).

 

To reconnect this file’s permissions to the group default, you must click Use Default. A parenthetical “Default” will return, indicating this file’s permissions are once again linked to the group’s default.

Was this article helpful?
Suggest an improvement or request a feature

Can't find what you need? Give us a call!